Monday, 07 October 2019 15:19


The SNP has announced the membership of a Social Justice and Fairness Commission to build the case for independence – showing how, with full powers, Scotland can tackle poverty and create a fairer society. 

The new body will build on the extensive work of the Sustainable Growth Commission and deliver a route map to the real prize of independence – a truly rich society with wellbeing at its heart.

The Social Justice and Fairness Commission, announced by the First Minister in the spring, will be chaired by Shona Robison MSP with support from the SNP’s Westminster Social Justice spokesperson Neil Gray MP. 

Included amongst the members are former Chief Medical Officer Professor Sir Harry Burns, activist and campaigner Chelsea Cameron and former Convener of the Scottish Women’s Budget Group Dr Angela O’Hagan.

The Commission will hold its first meeting in Stirling this Friday, ahead of an event at SNP Conference in Aberdeen this Sunday. 

Shona Robison commented:

“Independence is fundamentally about creating a better Scotland.

“The Social Justice and Fairness Commission will explore in detail how we can use the powers of independence to end poverty, tackle inequality and improve the lives of families across Scotland. 

“That’s a crucial task – both for persuading people of the case for independence, and for building a better country once we achieve it.

“The members of the Commission represent a broad base of expertise and experience, and over the next few months we will be working hard to harness the research and expertise available, as well as lived experience, to deliver a package of proposals with the potential to transform our country.

“This is an amazing opportunity to shape the future of our country, and I am delighted to be leading this important initiative with a fantastic team.”

Members of the Social Justice and Fairness Commission are:

Shona Robison MSP (Convener) 
Neil Gray MP (Deputy Convener)
Cllr John Alexander 
Professor Sir Harry Burns 
Chelsea Cameron 
Aileen Campbell MSP 
Cllr Graham Campbell 
Cllr Michelle Campbell 
Mike Dailly 
Rob Gibson 
Ginny McLanders Lawson 
Dr Angela O’Hagan
Dr Nighet Riaz 
Julia Stachurska 
Professor Mark Stephens 
Alison Thewliss MP 
Dr Eilidh Whiteford 
Ethan Young
Julie Hepburn (Secretariat) 

The commission includes both members and non-members of the SNP and membership of the Commission should not be used to assume the political views of any member.

Read 54 times

Monthly Archive

Re-elect Brendan O'Hara to represent Argyll & Bute



Re-elect Brendan O'Hara for Argyll & Bute on December 12th

In this General Election, we have the perfect opportunity to start shaping a new future for Scotland as an independent nation, within the European Union.

Like every other part of Scotland, Argyll & Bute voted overwhelmingly to remain in the European Union and that is a message I have delivered time and again to the Tories in Westminster. Yet despite the economic disaster that leaving the EU will mean for Argyll & Bute, Boris Johnson’s Tories are still determined to drag us out of Europe against our will.

An SNP victory here will tell Mr. Johnson that we reject his Tory hard-Brexit plan and that we are taking control of our own future.

Only with your financial help, however, can we ensure that every person behind every door in every town, in every village and on every island across this vast constituency gets to hear that positive SNP message of a new future for Scotland.

So please, give what you can. Any donation however small or large will make a real difference and help us secure a decisive win in Argyll & Bute and return Brendan to Westminster, to continue fighting for the people of Argyll & Bute and start building that new Scotland.

Thank you

Helensburgh SNP Easyfundraising


Did you know that whenever you buy anything online –  you could be raising a free donation for Helensburgh SNP?
There are nearly 3,000 retailers including Amazon, John Lewis, Aviva, who will donate a percentage of the amount you spend to Helensburgh SNP. It’s really simple, and doesn’t cost you anything. All you have to do to join is: Click Here