Tuesday, 12 July 2016 07:36

SNP comment on THERESA MAY as new prime minister

Written by

Commenting on the news Theresa May will become the next Prime Minister, SNP Westminster Leader Angus Robertson MP said:

“I congratulate Theresa May on becoming leader of her party, and the next UK Prime Minister.

“While there are very many issues on which we disagree, the role of Prime Minister is a huge responsibility and she has my best wishes in carrying out that role effectively and in the interests of all people and nations in the UK.

“Theresa May must show strong leadership. She becomes Prime Minister at a time of great uncertainty caused by the Tories and she will face major challenges as a result. The Tories have taken the country and the economy to the edge of a cliff with the EU referendum result – putting party ahead of country, failing to plan for Brexit and causing a great deal of damage and uncertainty.

“Theresa May should now work with Nicola Sturgeon to protect Scotland’s place in Europe – respecting the overwhelming choice of the people of Scotland who voted by 62% to remain in the EU.”